Health Science Center (HSC) Collaborative Governance

The HSC is a unique collaborative and has its own governance which is different from each of the partner's main campuses. Below outlines the collaborative governance for the HSC.

La Crosse Medical Health Science Consortium (LMHSC) Board of Directors

The LMHSC Board makes all final decisions related to the HSC based on recommendations from the various committees outlined below.

Meetings: Six times a year

Members:

The Board has two representatives from each of the five founding partners:

- Gundersen Health System
- Mayo Clinic Health System Franciscan Healthcare
- University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
- Viterbo
- Western Technical College

In addition, there is one representative from the:

- La Crosse School District
- La Crosse County Health Department

Current board listing

LMHSC Finance Committee

Responsible to the LMHSC Board for the integrity of all financial operations and compliance with all financial and regulatory functions of the LMHSC corporation, along with recommending the HSC budget.

Representatives are selected by their respective partner organization's LMHSC Board members. There can be up to two representatives from each of the five founding partners.

Meetings: Twice a year, or as needed

Members:

• Gundersen: Dustin Ammerman, Judith Eaton

Mayo: Karen Petersen, Steve ThickeUWL: Mark Haakenson, Bob Hetzel

• Viterbo: Amy Schmidt

• Western: Wade Hackbarth, Christina Heit

For each HSC governance group listed below, the intent is for each partner in the HSC (Gundersen, UWL and Western) to have representation on each of the groups. If any HSC staff would like to bring forth an item for discussion, the first point of contact is one's respective contact(s) on the group. This representative would then forward the item to the respective group for discussion on a future agenda. All HSC representatives are expected to update their colleagues related to outcomes on agenda discussions.

Health Science Center Management Group (HSCMG)

Oversees:

- Collaboration among HSC partners on building-related issues
- Necessary infrastructure and support services to serve the faculty and programs
- HSC budget and makes recommendations to the LMHSC Finance Committee

The HSCMG is comprised of three representatives from each of the three HSC building users (Gundersen, UWL and Western). For each of the three HSC partners, there are two representatives who work in the HSC and one representative from the organization's main campus. The terms are for 3 years and representatives are selected by their respective partner organization LMHSC Board members.

Meetings: Scheduled monthly, however only meets when needed

Example: January – December 2022 – five meetings held

Members:

Gundersen: Karen Cowden Dahl, Alan Eber, Darby Oldenburg

UW-L: Pat Grabowski, Sumei Liu, Scott Schumacher Western: Kari Christenson, Brian Haun, Dean Jobe

HSC IT/AV Team

Makes decisions related to the shared IT/AV technology in shared classrooms and labs and prepares annual budget proposals to recommend to the HSCMG.

Representatives are from each of the three HSC building users (Gundersen, UWL and Western). There are no term limits, and representatives are selected by HSC Program Directors and respective IT Department Directors. Minimum of one faculty user per partner is recommended. Currently Gundersen has chosen to not have representation but participate as needed.

Meetings: Average two times a year and usually held Jan./Feb. for budget planning

Members:

• UWL: Polly Berra, David Kim, Mark Valenti

• Western: Shari Berry, Mike DeBoer, Joan Pierce

8/11/23